top of page

The grid is set for the inaugural Virtual Race Of Champions

  • The grid is set for the first-ever edition of the Virtual Race Of Champions, with Colton Herta, Beitske Visser and Ruben Garcia Jr. joining a star-studded line-up

  • The first Virtual Race Of Champions will take place on Sunday June 28, 2020 at 18:00 UK time (19:00 CET) and will be streamed live on the Race Of Champions Youtube and Facebook channels

  • Global stars from Formula 1, Formula E, DTM, Le Mans, World Rally and Rally X will go head-to-head on some of the most iconic venues of ROC’s rich history including the mixed gravel and tarmac roads of the original Gran Canaria track and the twists and turns of London’s Wembley Stadium

  • The event will also feature the ROC Nations Cup and eROC World Final

Sixteen drivers, divided into four groups, will battle for the win in the first-ever Virtual Race Of Champions on Sunday June 28. ​ They include a wide variety of front-runners from various disciplines including Formula 1, Formula E, WEC, Rallycross, IndyCar and the W Series, as well as former ROC Champions and drivers excelling during the past intense period of sim racing. ​ Among the favourites are Mercedes Formula E star Stoffel Vandoorne, who recently won the FE Race At Home Challenge, Haas F1 driver Romain Grosjean, FIA World Rally and WRX Champion Petter Solberg, reigning World RX champion Timmy Hansen and Le Mans 24H Virtual winners Raffaele Marciello and Louis Deletraz. ​ Three new additions are joining the final line-up. Andretti Autosport’s IndyCar sensation Colton Herta joins the grid after winning two races in his 2019 rookie season. 2019 W Series runner-up Beitske Visser also joins. In addition to her real-life exploits, the Dutchwoman is currently leading the W Series Esports League. Finally, Ruben Garcia Jr returns after successfully defending his title in the 2019 NASCAR Mexico series. ​ The event, which is organised in partnership with Motorsport Games, will follow a similar format to the real-world Race Of Champions. Some of the biggest stars from Formula 1, World Rallycross, Formula E, Le Mans and other major disciplines will go head to head in identical cars. They will face off on virtual versions of some of the most iconic venues of ROC’s rich history, such as the mixed gravel and tarmac roads of the original Gran Canaria track and the twists and turns of London’s Wembley Stadium.

The tracks have been built from the ground up in the sim racing game Assetto Corsa and have not been used in competition before, ensuring a neutral platform and fair competition for all participants. Just like in the real-world Race Of Champions, the drivers will have to showcase their diverse skill set to quickly adapt to a wide variety of machinery, including a VUHL supercar, a rallycross car and the classic ROC buggy. ​ Fans of sim racing all around the world also got the opportunity to claim a place in the eROC World Final part of Virtual ROC. Sim ace Nils Naujoks, a finalist at eROC 2019, and G2 Esports driver Arthur Kammerer, set the two fastest hotlaps on a virtual ROC Mexico track beating hundreds of other participants to qualify for Sunday’s event. In the eROC World Final they will face off against former eROC Champions Enzo Bonito and James Baldwin. ​ The event will also feature a traditional ROC Nations Cup with several eye-catching line-ups, including two father and son teams with Petter and Oliver Solberg, and Andy and Sebastian Priaulx.

Race Of Champions Virtual 2020

Group A

  • Stoffel Vandoorne, 2020 Formula E Race at Home Champion

  • Bruno Spengler, 2020 IMSA Virtual Champion 2020

  • Raffaele Marciello, 2020 Le Mans 24H Virtual Champion

  • Louis Deletraz, 2020 Le Mans 24H Virtual Champion

Group B

  • Antonio Felix Da Costa, 2020 Formula E Championship leader

  • Colton Herta, youngest-ever IndyCar Winner

  • Ruben Garcia Jr, 2018 & 2019 NASCAR Mexico Champion

  • Beitske Visser, W Series Esports League leader

Group C

  • Petter Solberg, World Rally & World Rallycross Champion

  • Andy Priaulx, 3 x World Touring Car Champion

  • Johan Kristoffersson, 2017 & 2018 World Rallycross Champion

  • Filipe Albuquerque, 2010 ROC Champion

Group D

  • Romain Grosjean, 2012 ROC Champion

  • Benito Guerra, 2019 ROC Champion

  • Rene Rast, 2017 & 2019 DTM Champion

  • Timmy Hansen, 2019 World Rallycross Champion

eROC World Final

  • James Baldwin, 2019 eROC Champion

  • Enzo Bonito, 2018 eROC Champion

  • Nils Naujoks, 1st eROC Qualifier