Ryan Hunter-Reay

Ryan Hunter-Reay - 2014 Indy 500 winner

  • 3


  • 0


    Race of Champions

  • 0


    ROC Nations Cup

Birth Date: 17 December 1980

Birthplace: Fort Lauderdale, Florida

The most successful American driver currently racing in open-wheel competition, Ryan Hunter-Reay is the only driver to have taken victories in IndyCar, CART, Champ Car, ALMS and GrandAm.

His finest hour came in 2014 as he won the famous Borg-Warner Trophy and its accompanying bottle of milk with his first victory in the Indianapolis 500. But it was no easy ride for the American: after a six-lap closing battle with Brazil’s Helio Castroneves, he sealed victory by just 0.06 seconds, the second closest finish in the history of the classic race - and the second fastest time.

Hunter-Reay also sealed the 2012 IndyCar Series championship with a dramatic late run to glory. Despite a run of three straight wins, he still trailed Australia’s Will Power by 36 points with two races left. The American duly won in Baltimore to reduce the gap. Then in the Fontana finale Power crashed out before briefly returning to the track to ensure Hunter-Reay needed to finish in 5th place or higher. After a frantic, nail-biting final six-lap shootout, Hunter-Reay brought his Andretti Autosport car home 4th to become the first home-grown champion in a unified IndyCar series since 1994.

A passionate advocate of the fight against cancer, Hunter-Reay races with the number #28 in recognition of the estimated 28 million cancer sufferers around the world. He made his Race Of Champions debut in Bangkok in 2012 before making a fine return in 2014, winning five of his six group heats.

Career Highlights

  • 2014 Indy 500 Winner
  • 2012 IndyCar Series Champion
  • 2007 IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year

Other Achievements

  • 2011 12 Hours of Sebring Winner LMP2
  • 2010 24 Hours of Daytona Podium
  • 2008 Indy 500 Rookie of the Year
  • 2003 First Champ Car Win at Surfers Paradise, Australia
  • 2002 Formula Atlantic: Most wins, laps led, fast times
  • Nine-time World Karting Association/IKF Champion

ROC Highlights

  • Years contested: 2012, 2014, 2015

2015: Reached the quarter-finals of the individual Race Of Champions

2014: Ryan won five of his six group heats over the two days, reaching the quarter-finals of the individual Race Of Champions


Share this page:

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner