Past Results

1994 Canary Islands


ROC Winner     Didier Auriol
ROC Finalist     Stig Blomqvist
ROC Semi-Finalists     Kankkunen And Schwarz


Newly crowned World Rally Champion Didier Auriol showed that 1994 was definitely his year by securing his second consecutive ‘Champion of Champions’ title. The Frenchman beat veteran Stig Blomqvist 2-1 in a best-of-three-heats contest. 

Throughout the event Auriol had done just enough when it mattered, winning all his battles in the decisive third heat. The quarter finals saw him eliminate local hero, Luis Monzon, winner of the Spanish Masters and in the semis he was two tenths of a second faster than Juha Kankkunen in the decider. Blomqvist had beaten Germany’s Armin Schwarz to secure his place in the final. 

This year also saw the introduction of a new competition to the traditional Race Of Champions line-up in the guise of the Classic Rally Masters. A ‘historic’ Race of Champions run with pre-1965 Porsche 911s saw the likes of Björn Waldegård, Michèle Mouton, Jimmy McRae, Simo Lampinen and Jean-Louis Schlesser do battle over the parallel track. In the inaugural running of the event it was double World Sportscar Champion (1990 and 1991) Schlesser who emerged victorious. 

Timo Salonen won Saturday’s International Rally Masters event.

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner