Past Results

2000 Canary Islands


ROC Winner     Tommi Mäkinen
ROC Finalist     Marcus Grönholm
ROC Semi-Finalists     Panizzi And Auriol
ROC Nations Cup Winners     France (G Panizzi/Y Muller/ R Laconi)
ROC Nations Cup Finalists     Italy (M Biasion/E Pirro/V Rossi)
Legends Winner     Stig Blomqvist


This was the year that four-time World Rally Champion, Tommi Mäkinen, finally managed to claim the crown he had come so close to many times before, the Michelin Race Of Champions. Mäkinen defeated newly crowned World Champion, Marcus Grönholm in an all-Finnish final, putting an end to Finland’s nine-year wait to win the title since Juha Kankkunen’s victory in 1991

Mäkinen and Grönholm had beaten strong French opposition in the form ofDidier Auriol and Gilles Panizzi in the semi-finals to set up the all-Finnish affair. Panizzi himself had been forced to reach top form as early as the quarter-final in order to eclipse the surprisingly strong performance of 500cc motorcycle star, Valentino Rossi

In only its second year, the ROC Nations Cup contest again played host to some fierce competition. The Finns were looking to secure a stranglehold on the title by scoring back-to-back victories following their victory in the inaugural Michelin ROC Nations Cup in 1999

Unfortunately for them, the French team (Regis Laconi, Yvan Muller and Gilles Panizzi) had other ideas and produced a near faultless set of performances, defeating 1999’s beaten finalists, Spain 3-0 in the semi-final and then trouncing the Finns’ semi-final conquerors, Italy (Valentino Rossi, Emanuele Pirro and Miki Biasion) 3-0 in the final. 

The International Rally Masters and ROC Legends competitions saw successful retentions of both titles by 1999 champions, Armin Schwarz and Stig Blomqvist.

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner