Past Results

1997 Canary Islands


ROC Winner     Carlos Sainz
ROC Finalist     Colin McRae
ROC Semi-Finalists     Auriol And Kytolehto


The 10th running of The Race Of Champions saw local favourite, Carlos Sainzemerge victorious against Colin McRae in the final, sending the people of Gran Canaria into spontaneous fiesta mode. 

Sainz comfortably beat McRae 2-0, winning by more than half a second in both heats, in the Ford Escort WRC and the Toyota Celica respectively. 

Sainz’s semi-final victory was, however, significantly less comfortable. The best-of-three heat battle against Didier Auriol was ultimately decided by a hundredth of a second in the third heat. McRae had beaten the winner of the International Rally Masters contest, Jarmo Kytolehto, to secure his passage through to the final. 

In the weekend’s other events, Walter Röhrl beat Stig Blomqvist in the fabulous Group B Audi S1 Quattros to win the Classic Masters final and Jarmo Kytolehto’s International Rally Masters victory was secured by virtue of victory against Germany’s Armin Schwarz in the final.

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner