Past Results

1995 Canary Islands


ROC Winner     François Delecour
ROC Finalist     Colin McRae
ROC Semi-Finalists     Auriol And Aghini


Only the narrowest of margins saw François Delecour beat Colin McRae to secure the 1995 Race Of Champions crown. In a best-of-three final, the Frenchman won the third and decisive heat by just three hundredths of a second to edge out the Scotsman’s determined challenge. 

It was not only in the final that François Delecour left it to the last moment to secure victory; in his quarter-final against 1988 and 1991 Champion of Champions, Juha Kankkunen, he won the third heat by just a quarter of a second and in the semis he beat 1993 and 1994 Champion of Champions,Didier Auriol by just 0.17s in the decider. 

The all-French semi-final duel between Delecour and Auriol was particularly memorable because Toyota driver Auriol won the heat contested in Ford Escorts while Delecour, a Ford factory driver, won both heats in the Toyota Celicas. 

Colin McRae easily eliminated Italians Miki Biasion and Andrea Aghini, winner of Saturday’s International Rally Masters, on his way to the final. Belgium’s Marc Duez beat Stig Blomqvist in the Final of the Classic Masters event.

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner