Past Results

1988 Montléry


ROC Winner     Juha Kankkunen
ROC Finalist     Timo Salonen
ROC Semi-Finalists     Röhrl And Blomqvist


The first ever Race Of Champions took place at the Montlhéry circuit near Paris. Despite a rainy day over 15,000 spectators came to watch all the official World Rally Champions competing against one another, in the same cars, on equal terms. 

Björn Waldegaard, Walter Röhrl, Hannu Mikkola, Timo Salonen, Ari Vatanen,Stig Blomqvist, Juha Kankkunen and Massimo Biasion, the 1988 World Champion, formed the inaugural cast. 

The BMW M3, Audi Quattro S1, Lancia Delta Integrale, Ford Sierra Cosworth, Opel Manta and Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 were the event’s co-stars. 

The final was a battle between Juha Kankkunen and Timo Salonen, two of the ‘Flying Finns’, won by Kankkunen who became the first ‘Champion of Champions’.

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner