News 2011

Red Bull FMX riders top shows for ROC 2011

Fri 25 November 2011

Red Bull FMX riders top shows for ROC 2011

Red Bull FMX riders top shows for ROC 2011
  • The Red Bull FMX riders will feature in a packed programme of entertainment at the Race Of Champions in Düsseldorf on December 3-4
  • Highlights include the Lotus Renault GP two-seater F1 car, rally legend Stig Blomqvist in the Audi S1, Chris Pfeiffer Streetbike Freestyle Rider and stunt driver Terry Grant’s world record attempt for driving on two wheels
  • The shows run alongside the main event, the Race Of Champions, whose line-up includes three Formula 1 world champions

      The Red Bull FMX riders will thrill the crowds at next month’s Race Of Champions as part of a busy programme of shows that run alongside the main event.

      A truly global team including Nick de Wit (South Africa), Nick Franklin (New Zealand), Ryan Logan (US) and Jimmy Verbrugh (Belgium) will take to the skies of the ESPRIT arena in Düsseldorf as they perform their motocross antics.

      There will be plenty more to keep the crowds entertained during the gaps between races in the main event. It’ll be earplugs at the ready as the Lotus Renault GP two-seater Formula 1 car takes to the track in the hands of the team’s drivers Vitaly Petrov and Romain Grosjean, who are both also lined up for the race itself in more conventional ROC machinery.

      There will even be a world record attempt too as stunt driver and ROC regular Terry Grant aims to set a new distance mark for riding on two wheels in his Nissan Juke. Chris Pfeiffer Streetbike Freestyle Rider will provide plenty more two-wheeled stunts as he returns with his daredevil moves.

      Another ROC veteran returning to the track is 1984 world rally champion Stig Blomqvist, who will do demonstration runs in the classic Audi S1 rally car. There will also be a show run of the all-new VW Polo WRC car. That’s not to mention DJs, cheerleaders and much, much more.

      The shows all support the Race Of Champions, which has been staged every year since 1988, founded by IMP President Fredrik Johnsson and Michèle Mouton, the world’s most successful female rally driver. The competition brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s most prestigious disciplines and pits them head-to-head in identical machinery.

      ROC race organiser Fredrik Johnsson said: “We like to pack in our entertainment at the Race Of Champions and this year is no exception. What with the Red Bull FMX Show, Terry Grant’s world record attempt, Chris Pfeiffer’s incredible tricks, the Lotus Renault GP two-seater and all the other shows we have laid on, there should be no shortage of action and noise – and that’s not even counting the main event…”

      Tickets are still available from with prices starting at €19. Sign up for all the latest updates at, @raceofchampions on Tiwtter or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

      Drivers confirmed for the 2011 Race Of Champions:

      • Sebastian VETTEL, 2010 and 2011 Formula 1 World Champion
      • Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
      • Jenson BUTTON, 2009 Formula 1 World Champion
      • Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion
      • Tom KRISTENSEN, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
      • Mattias EKSTROM, DTM star and triple ROC Champion of Champions
      • Sébastien OGIER, winner of five WRC rallies in 2011
      • Romain GROSJEAN, 2011 GP2 Series Champion
      • Vitaly PETROV, Formula 1 driver for Lotus Renault GP
      • Timo GLOCK, Formula 1 driver for Marussia Virgin Racing
      • Timo SCHEIDER, 2008 and 2009 DTM Champion
      • Martin TOMCZYK, 2011 DTM Champion
      • Juho HÄNNINEN, 2011 S-WRC champion and 2010 IRC champion
      • Jan KOPECKÝ, three-time Intercontinental Rally Challenge runner-up
      • David COULTHARD, winner of 13 Formula 1 grands prix
      • Filipe ALBUQUERQUE, DTM star and reigning ROC Champion of Champions
      • Brian DEEGAN, 13 X-games medals including Rally Cross gold in 2011
      • Travis PASTRANA, four-time Rally America winner and X-Games legend
      • Share this page: