News 2010

Touring Car star Jason Plato to race for Team GB

Wed 03 November 2010

Touring Car star Jason Plato to race for Team GB

Touring Car star Jason Plato to race for Team GB
  • 2010 British Touring Car Champion Jason Plato has signed up for the Race Of Champions in Düsseldorf, Germany on November 27-28
  • Plato, who took his second crown in the British series this year, will team up with fellow Touring Car specialist Andy Priaulx for Team GB
  • The pair join a dazzling ROC 2010 line-up that includes seven-time F1 world champion Michael Schumacher, seven-time world rally champion Sébastien Loeb and 2010 F1 title contender Sebastian Vettel

      Team GB will head to the 2010 Race of Champions in Düsseldorf with a pair of tin-top experts after Jason Plato signed up to race alongside Andy Priaulx.

      Plato won this year’s British Touring Car Championship for Chevrolet, his first title in the series since 2001. He is also well-known to UK television viewers as one of the presenters of Fifth Gear – and now he will be making a return to The Race of Champions after his debut appearance at Wembley in 2008.

      Plato joins a driver roll call that already includes multiple F1 world champions Michael Schumacher and Alain Prost, seven-time world rally king Sébastien Loeb, five-time world 500cc motorcycling champion Mick Doohan, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner Tom Kristensen, X-Games legend Travis Pastrana and 2010 F1 title contender Sebastian Vettel.

      Plato said: “It’s been a great year for me on the track and it meant so much to clinch the BTCC title again after a gap of nine years. Now my next step is to head to Düsseldorf to slug it out with this amazing field of legends. Everyone says it’s just for fun but in the ROC Nations Cup Andy and I will do our best to battle not just for the pride of Britain but the pride of tin-tops.”

      The Race of Champions has been staged every year since 1988, founded by IMP President Fredrik Johnsson and Michèle Mouton, the world’s most successful female rally driver. The end-of-season competition brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s most prestigious disciplines and pits them head-to-head in identical machinery. This year’s event will take place on a specially constructed tarmac circuit with two parallel lanes winding their way round Düsseldorf’s ESPRIT arena.

      Johnsson said: “Jason entertained the crowds at Wembley and after a classic season like his 2010, no doubt he’ll be up for more later this month. We look forward to seeing him and Andy taking on the rest of the world in Germany.”

      More star drivers will be announced as the countdown to the 2010 Race of Champions continues in the run-up to the big weekend in Düsseldorf on November 27-28. The public vote for Team Benelux at closes tonight at 2300 CET.

      Tickets are now available from with prices starting at 29 Euros. Sign up for all the latest updates at , @raceofchampions on Twitter or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

      Drivers already confirmed for the 2010 Race of Champions:

      • Michael SCHUMACHER, Seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
      • Alain PROST, Four-time Formula 1 World Champion
      • Sébastien LOEB, Seven-time World Rally Champion
      • Mick DOOHAN, Five-time World 500cc Motorcycling Champion
      • Sebastian VETTEL, 2010 Formula 1 title contender
      • Tom KRISTENSEN, Eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
      • Heikki KOVALAINEN, Formula 1 grand prix winner
      • Alvaro PARENTE, GP2 race winner & Winner ROC South Europe 2010
      • Filipe ALBUQUERQUE, A1GP race winner & Winner ROC South Europe 2010
      • Travis PASTRANA, Eleven-time X-Games gold medallist
      • Carl EDWARDS, 2007 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion
      • Andy PRIAULX, Three-time World Touring Car Champion
      • Jason PLATO, Two-time British Touring Car Champion
      • Share this page: