News 2010

Team Benelux vote closes

Thu 21 October 2010

Team Benelux vote closes

Team Benelux vote closes

    Team Benelux vote closes

  • The vote to decide the line-up for Team Benelux at the 2010 Race Of Champions in Düsseldorf, Germany on November 27-28 has now closed
  • At the final count before the close the Dutch vote was still very close. Jeroen Bleekemolen led with 29.7%, narrowly ahead of Tom Coronel on 25.8% and Robert Doornbos on 25.4%.
  • In the Belgian vote Bertrand Baguette had the advantage with 36.2%, ahead of Francois Duval with 31.3% and Eric van de Poele on 22.7%.
  • Keep your eyes on for the announcement of the final results

Race fans have until 2300 CET on Monday November 8 to decide the line-up for Team Benelux at the 2010 Race of Champions in Düsseldorf on November 27-28 – via a vote available now at

The annual end-of-season competition brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s most prestigious disciplines and pits them head-to-head in identical machinery. This is the first time in ROC history that fans will have the power to decide who will take part. The vote will decide which drivers will represent Belgium and the Netherlands – the two largest nations in the Benelux region – next month.

The Dutch choice will be between former F1 driver Robert Doornbos, WTCC racer Tom Coronel and Porsche Supercup champion Jeroen Bleekemolen. The Belgians will be selected from rally ace François Duval, F1 veteran Eric van de Poele and Indycar racer Bertrand Baguette.

Anyone with a different favourite will have the chance to vote for them too – and any fan participating in the vote has a chance to win a passenger ride at The Race of Champions.

The winning drivers will join a roll call of stars that already includes seven-time F1 world champion Michael Schumacher, four-time F1 world champion Alain Prost, seven-time world rally champion Sébastien Loeb, five-time world 500cc motorcycling champion Mick Doohan, eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner Tom Kristensen, X-Games legend Travis Pastrana and 2010 F1 title contender Sebastian Vettel.

The Race of Champions has been staged every year since 1988, founded by IMP President Fredrik Johnsson and Michèle Mouton, the world’s most successful female rally driver. This year’s event will take place on a specially constructed tarmac circuit with two parallel lanes winding their way round Düsseldorf’s ESPRIT arena.

Johnsson said: “We’re always looking for new ways to get the fans involved in The Race of Champions and this is our latest project. We hope this sparks a heated debate, especially in Belgium and the Netherlands, as everyone will have the chance to choose their favourite home driver to race against the greats we already have lined up next month.”

Tickets are now available from with prices starting at 29 Euros. Sign up for all the latest updates at , @raceofchampions on Twitter or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

Drivers already confirmed for the 2010 Race of Champions:

  • Seven-time Formula 1 World Champion Michael Schumacher
  • Four-time Formula 1 World Champion Alain Prost
  • Seven-time World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb
  • Five-time World 500cc Motorcycling Champion Mick Doohan
  • Red Bull Racing’s multiple grand prix winner Sebastian Vettel
  • Eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour Race Winner Tom Kristensen
  • Three-time World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx
  • Two-time British Touring Car Champion Jason Plato
  • Eleven-time X-Games Gold medalist Travis Pastrana
  • 2007 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion Carl Edwards
  • GP2 race winner Alvaro Parente
  • A1GP race winner Filipe Albuquerque

Share this page: