News 2010

ROC completes dazzling line-up of Big Stars and Fast Cars

Tue 23 November 2010

ROC completes dazzling line-up of Big Stars and Fast Cars

ROC completes dazzling line-up of Big Stars and Fast Cars
  • Newly-crowned Formula 1 world champion Sebastian Vettel and world rally champion Sébastien Loeb head the final list of drivers competing at The Race Of Champions in Düsseldorf on November 27-28
  • The stunning array of greats also includes multiple F1 world champions Michael Schumacher and Alain Prost, Le Mans legend Tom Kristensen and NASCAR’s Carl Edwards, fresh from wins in 2010’s last two races
  • 2010 X-Games rally and rallycross gold medallist Tanner Foust is the latest driver to sign up: he will partner five-time motorcycling world champion Mick Doohan in Team All Stars
  • The superstars will race a mighty mix of machinery led by the powerful Audi R8 LMS, Porsche 911 and VW Scirocco

      This weekend’s Race of Champions will feature a thrilling line-up of stars and cars headed by the biggest names in motor sport. Newly-crowned Formula 1 world champion Sebastian Vettel will take on the greatest drivers of all time from F1, world rally, Le Mans and world touring cars plus aces from many other fields on two wheels and four.

      The event has been staged every year since 1988, founded by IMP President Fredrik Johnsson and Michèle Mouton, the world’s most successful female rally driver. The competition pits the greats of motor sport head-to-head on a parallel track in identical machinery.

      The competitors will need to draw on all their talent to handle this year’s cars, topped by the Audi R8 LMS – producing over 500hp – plus the Porsche 911 and VW Scirocco. They will run alongside ROC favourites including the ROC car, KTM X-Bow, Solution F Prototype, FJ Racecar and the RX150 buggy.

      Johnsson said: “We’re delighted with the line-up of stars and cars we’ve put together for this weekend’s Race of Champions. The reigning champions from the two biggest series in motor sport will have a rare chance to pit themselves against many of the greatest drivers of all time. The wide mix of machinery will test them all out so we can find the ultimate ‘Champion of Champions’.”

      The final name to sign up for ROC 2010 is Tanner Foust, star of special stage and screen. Foust is a specialist in the art of drift racing and an X-Games regular, taking rally and rallycross gold medals in 2010. He has also used his skills as a stunt driver on such films as The Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift, Iron Man 2 and The Dukes of Hazzard.

      A rare racing scholar, Foust has a degree in molecular biology – but on his ROC debut in 2008 he made a big impression by defeating F1 star Jenson Button. Last year in Beijing Foust also made it to the ROC Nations Cup semi-final for Team USA alongside Travis Pastrana. Now he will aim to go one step further in partnership with Mick Doohan for Team All Stars.

      Tickets are still available from with prices starting at 29 Euros. Sign up for all the latest updates at, @raceofchampions on Twitter, or Race Of Champions on Facebook.

      Full list of drivers confirmed for the 2010 Race of Champions:

      • Sebastian VETTEL, 2010 Formula 1 World Champion
      • Michael SCHUMACHER, Seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
      • Alain PROST, Four-time Formula 1 World Champion
      • Sébastien LOEB, Seven-time World Rally Champion
      • Mick DOOHAN, Five-time World 500cc Motorcycling Champion
      • Tanner FOUST, 2010 X-Games rally and rallycross gold medallist
      • Heikki KOVALAINEN, Formula 1 grand prix winner
      • Tom KRISTENSEN, Eight-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
      • Andy PRIAULX, Three-time World Touring Car Champion
      • Jason PLATO, Two-time British Touring Car Champion
      • Alvaro PARENTE, GP2 race winner & winner ROC South Europe 2010
      • Filipe ALBUQUERQUE, A1GP race winner & winner ROC South Europe 2010
      • Jeroen BLEEKEMOLEN, Two-time Porsche Supercup Champion
      • Bertrand BAGUETTE, 2009 World Series by Renault Champion
      • Carl EDWARDS, 2007 NASCAR Nationwide Series Champion
      • Travis PASTRANA, Eleven-time X-Games gold medallist
      • Share this page: