Drivers named for Race of Champions heats

Mon 14 September 2009

Drivers named for Race of Champions heats

Drivers named for Race of Champions heats

The draw for tomorrow’s first round of Race Of Champions heats has been made at Wembley Stadium, revealing the first match-ups of the event.

The 16 ROC drivers will face off against each other in a knock-out competition to find out who is the ‘Champion of Champions’ tomorrow (Sunday, Dec 14). The opening round heats will be as follows:

Gareth MacHale v David Coulthard

Adam Carroll v Mattias Ekstrom

Tom Kristensen v Michael Schumacher

Jason Plato v Andy Priaulx

Tanner Foust v Jenson Button

Troy Bayliss v Sebastian Vettel

Jaime Alguersuari v Carl Edwards

Yvan Muller v Sebastien Loeb

Eight times Le Mans winner Kristensen drew seven times Formula 1 World Champion in one of the tastiest races of the first round, while new boy Adam Carroll drew reigning ROC champion, Mattias Ekstrom.

There are a couple of inter-nation ties in the first round, with BTCC ace Jason Plato squaring up against three times World Touring Car Champion, Andy Priaulx. Meanwhile, the two Team France team-mates, Muller and Loeb, will face off too.

The Race of Champions gets underway at 5.30pm tomorrow, following the ROC Nations Cup. Tickets will be available on the gate at Wembley Stadium.

Share this page: