IndyCar great Helio Castroneves to make ROC debut

Thu 19 September 2013

IndyCar great Helio Castroneves to make ROC debut

IndyCar great Helio Castroneves to make ROC debut
  • Three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves will compete at the 2013 Race Of Champions in Bangkok, Thailand
  • Castroneves remains in the 2013 IndyCar Series title race heading into the final round
  • The Brazilian will make his ROC debut on December 14-15, joining Formula 1 legend Michael Schumacher in the field

    Brazil’s three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves has become the second driver in the draw for the 2013 Race Of Champions, to be held at Bangkok’s Rajamangala Stadium on the weekend of December 14-15.

    Castroneves has had a distinguished career in American racing, winning the Indy 500 on his first two appearances in 2001 and 2002 before wrapping up the hat-trick in 2009. The Brazilian has also finished in the overall IndyCar Series top six in 11 of the last 12 seasons. He heads into the final race of 2013 IndyCar Series just 25 points behind leader Scott Dixon.

    Now Castroneves has the chance to add more silverware at his first attempt, as he will make his ROC debut in Bangkok at the age of 38.

    Castroneves said: “XXXXXXXXXX…”

    Held every year since 1988, the Race Of Champions brings together the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s main disciplines – including Formula 1, IndyCar, world rally, Le Mans, MotoGP, Nascar, Touring Cars and the X-Games – and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery.

    ROC 2013 will take place on a specially constructed tarmac track with two parallel lanes winding their way round Bangkok’s Rajamangala Stadium. Drivers pair up for the ROC Nations Cup, this year scheduled for Saturday 14 December, ahead of the individual Race Of Champions on Sunday 15 December.

    ROC features stars from all over the world: seven-time Formula 1 world champion Michael Schumacher has already signed up and the rest of the 2013 line-up will be announced in the run-up to December’s event. Last year’s field featured 10 F1 world championships from Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel, seven MotoGP titles through Jorge Lorenzo and Mick Doohan plus greats from Le Mans (Tom Kristensen), V8 Supercars (Jamie Whincup), IndyCar (Ryan Hunter-Reay) and more.

    Race organiser Fredrik Johnsson said: “We’re thrilled to have Helio with us at the Race Of Champions at last. He has had a fantastic career with three wins in the Indy 500 – and his success in 2013 shows he is still right at the top of his game. We wish him every success in his bid to bring home more silverware so he can head to his first ROC as the reigning champion. No doubt he will have a sizeable fan base from all over the Americas following his progress in Bangkok.”

    Ticket details will be released shortly. For further information and access to high-resolution imagery please visit Sign up for all the latest updates at, via Race Of Champions on Facebook or @raceofchampions and the hashtag #BangROC on Twitter.

    The driver line-up for the 2012 Race Of Champions included:
    • Michael SCHUMACHER, seven-time Formula 1 World Champion
    • Sebastian VETTEL, Formula 1 World Champion 2012, 2011, 2010
    • Jorge LORENZO, MotoGP World Champion 2012, 2010
    • Tom KRISTENSEN, nine-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
    • Mick DOOHAN, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion
    • Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
    • David COULTHARD, 13-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
    • Andy PRIAULX, three-time World Touring Car Champion
    • Ryan HUNTER-REAY, IndyCar Series Champion 2012
    • Benito GUERRA, Production World Rally Champion 2012
    • Narain KARTHIKEYAN, 2012 Formula 1 driver for HRT
    • Karun CHANDHOK, Formula 1 driver for HRT and Team Lotus
    • Nattavude CHAROENSUKAWATTANA, Supercar Thailand Champion 2010
    • Tin SRITRAI, Touring Car Series in Asia by IMSP Champion 2012
    • Kazuya OHSHIMA, Class winner Nürburgring 24-Hour race 2012, 2010
    • Takuto IGUCHI, Class winner Nürburgring 24-Hour race 2012
    • Ho-Pin TUNG, Formula 1 test driver for Renault
    • Han HAN, China Rally and China Touring Car Champion 2012
    • Romain GROSJEAN, five Formula 1 podiums in 2012 and 2013
    • Sébastien OGIER, World Rally Champion 2013