Champions prepare to ROC Barbados

Fri 05 December 2014

Champions prepare to ROC Barbados

Champions prepare to ROC Barbados
  • Motor sport champions from all over the world are getting ready to travel to Barbados for next week’s Race Of Champions
  • Formula 1, Le Mans and Indianapolis 500 winners are among the line-up in action on ROC’s unique parallel track
  • They join champions from series including NASCAR, IndyCar, WTCC, WEC, V8 Supercars, World Rallycross and MotoGP in a bid to find the overall ROC ‘Champion of Champions’
  • Tickets are still available via for ROC 2014 at Bushy Park Barbados on December 13-14

    Champions and driving greats from the world’s major motor sport series are getting ready for next week’s Race Of Champions, to be held at Bushy Park Barbados on December 13-14.

    The annual end-of-season event, which has been running for over 25 years, brings together some of the world’s best drivers from motor sport’s major disciplines and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery on a unique track with two parallel lanes linked by a crossover bridge. This year’s track at Bushy Park will be twice as long as recent years, leading to even more speed – and adrenaline…

    There are two prestigious titles up for grabs over a weekend of non-stop action and entertainment featuring over 60 individual duels. First, on Saturday December 13 the drivers pair up in teams based on country/region for the ROC Nations Cup. Then on Sunday December 14 all friendly co-operation goes out of the window in the Race Of Champions as they slug it out to be crowned individual ‘Champion of Champions’.

    ROC 2014 will feature a stunning line-up of motor sport legends drawn from series including Formula 1, Le Mans, MotoGP, IndyCar, NASCAR, World Rallycross and Touring Cars. They will head to Barbados from all corners of the world including the USA, Europe, South America and Australia.

    Nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Tom Kristensen announced his retirement from the World Endurance Championship last month but he will now look to finish his year in style. The Dane has reached the last two Race Of Champions Grand Finals but if he wants to go one step further he must avenge his Bangkok defeat by Formula 1’s Romain Grosjean, the reigning ROC Champion of Champions (pictured).

    The ROC 2014 field includes this year’s Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, who will partner NASCAR champion Kurt Busch for Team USA. The pair will have to compete against drivers including Hunter-Reay’s own brother-in-law Robby Gordon, a seven-time off-road champion who has raced just about everything on four wheels.

    A host of 2014 champions will join them in Barbados – including FIA World Touring Car Champion José Maria ‘Pechito’ Lopez, FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg, FIA GP2 Champion Jolyon Palmer, FIA European F3 Champion Esteban Ocon and V8 Supercars ace Jamie Whincup, who took a record sixth title this year.

    The Australian will join forces with five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion Mick Doohan in the ROC Nations Cup. But competition will be fierce, not least from Team Scotland’s pairing of 13-time F1 grand prix winner David Coulthard and Williams F1 official test driver Susie Wolff, ROC’s first ever female competitor.

    Or perhaps host nation Barbados (Rhett Watson and Dane Skeete) can surprise all the racing royalty assembled on the island with a win in front of their own fans?

    For the stars, there’s no place to hide. It’s a knockout tournament so mistakes prove terminal – but there’s no blaming the machinery because everyone gets the same kit. They all believe they’re the best but there can be only one ‘Champion of Champions’. So who will come out on top? Watch next weekend’s Race Of Champions at Bushy Park Barbados to find out…

    Tickets for ROC 2014 are still available at For access to high-resolution imagery – including the driver image displayed above – please visit You can sign up for all the latest updates at, Race Of Champions on Facebook or @raceofchampions and #ROCBarbados on Twitter.

  • Drivers already announced for the 2014 Race Of Champions:
    • Tom KRISTENSEN, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner
    • Romain GROSJEAN, Lotus F1 Team driver, reigning ROC Champion of Champions
    • Ryan HUNTER-REAY, Indianapolis 500 winner 2014, IndyCar Champion 2012
    • Jamie WHINCUP, V8 Supercar Champion 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2008
    • Petter SOLBERG, FIA World Rallycross Champion 2014, FIA World Rally Champion 2003
    • Susie WOLFF, official test driver for the Williams F1 team
    • Kurt BUSCH, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion 2004
    • José-Maria LOPEZ, FIA World Touring Car Champion 2014
    • Esteban OCON, FIA European F3 Champion 2014
    • Mick DOOHAN, 500cc MotoGP World Champion 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994
    • David COULTHARD, 13-time Formula 1 grand prix winner
    • Jolyon PALMER, FIA GP2 Series Champion 2014
    • Robby GORDON, Seven-time Off-road Champion, three-time Baja 1000 winner

      Share this page: