Sébastien Loeb

Sébastien Loeb - Nine-time World Rally Champion

  • 7


  • 3


    Race of Champions

  • 1


    ROC Nations Cup

Birth Date: 26 February 1974

Birthplace: Haguenau, France

Sébastien Loeb has an indisputable claim to be the best rally driver of all time, having racked up the most championships and the most wins.

Since the Frenchman’s full-time arrival in the sport in 2003 he has taken every WRC title – except for his first full season when he was the runner-up by a single point. He did, though, defeat rally legends Carlos Sainz and Colin McRae in the same Citroën that year. All his nine subsequent victories have come with the French manufacturer in partnership with co-driver Daniel Elena.

Loeb began his sporting career in another field altogether, gymnastics, winning the Alsace championships four times. But he made the swap to life on four wheels in 1995 at the age of 21.

The Frenchman’s driving prowess is not limited to rallying. He came second at the Le Mans 24-Hour race in a Pescarolo-Judd in 2006. Loeb has also impressed during F1 testing, notably for the Red Bull team. He was due to race in the 2009 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix for Toro Rosso until a superlicence problem scuppered the bid. He is now pondering a switch to the World Touring Car Championship in 2014 as he scales back his world rally commitments.

He made up for his only WRC disappointment in 2003 by winning his first Race Of Champions crown. Loeb has since earned the ‘Champion of Champions’ title on two further occasions (2005 and 2008). Remarkably, he has reached the Grand Final on each of his seven visits to The Race of ChampionsHe also took victory for France alongside Jean Alesi in the ROC Nations Cup in 2004.



  • 9-time World Rally Champion – every year from 2004 to 2012
  • 75 WRC wins, over twice as many as his nearest challenger
  • Three victories in The Race of Champions, six Grand Final appearances out of six



2012: Wins record ninth consecutive World Rally Championship

2009: Made a knight of the Légion D’Honneur in France

2008: Wins a record seventh consecutive Rallye Deutschland

2005: Loeb wins a record ten rallies including six in a row, another record

2005: Wins every single stage on the Tour de Corse

2004: Takes six wins and six second places en route to a WRC title win by 36 points

2002: First full WRC season with Citroën – took victory at the Rallye Deutschland

2001: Junior World Rally Champion

1995: Made switch from gymnastics to rallying



  • Years contested: 200220032004200520062008, 2010

2010: Reaches his seventh final of the Race Of Champions

2008: Earns ‘Champion of Champions’ title number three

2006: Reaches yet another final of the Race Of Champions

2005: Defeats Tom Kristensen to win his second Henri Toivonen Memorial Trophy

2004: Wins ROC Nations Cup with Jean Alesi. Reaches individual Grand Final too

2003: Takes his first win in the Race Of Champions

2002: Reaches the Grand Final on his first appearance at the Race Of Champions

Share this page:

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner