Carlos Sainz

Carlos Sainz - 2-time World Rally Champion

  • 9


  • 1


    Race of Champions

  • 0


    ROC Nations Cup

Birth Date: 12 April 1962

Birthplace: Madrid, Spain

Birth Date: 12 April 1962 Home Town: Madrid, Spain
Nationality: Spanish Web:

Carlos Sainz is a multiple world rally champion, having competed in nearly 200 WRC events and taken the title in 1990 and 1992.

Between his 1987 debut and his last event in 2005, ‘El Matador’ won a total of 26 rallies, the third highest total in the history of the sport. He holds the records for the most rallies competed in, plus the most podiums and points.

Sainz’s most successful period came in the early Nineties for Toyota, for whom he won his two world titles. He also finished runner-up in the title race a further four times and helped Subaru (1995), Toyota (1999) and Citroën (2003, 2004 and 2005) to constructors’ crowns.

Sainz was 500 metres away from adding a third WRC title in 1998 when he retired with a mechanical problem in his Toyota.

Since taking his first victory in the Dakar Rally early in 2010, Sainz has spent the year following the racing career of his son, Carlos Sainz Jr, who is keen to show he has inherited his Dad’s talent.

Sainz won The Race Of Champions in 1997, one of his many visits to the event. He also helped Spain to the final of the inaugural ROC Nations Cup in 1999.


  • 2-time World Rally Champion (1990 and 1992)
  • 2010 Paris-Dakar Rally victor
  • 1997 winner of The Race of Champions


2010: Took victory in the Dakar Rally

2006: Competes in first Dakar Rally

2005: Final WRC event at the Acropolis Rally

2004: Takes last WRC win at Rally Argentina

1995: Runner-up in the WRC

1991: Five rally wins, runner-up in the WRC

1990: Became first non-Nordic driver to win the Finnish Rally

1990: First WRC win at the Acropolis Rally

1990: Won the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship

1988: Retained Spanish Rally Championship

1987: WRC debut at Rally Portugal

1987: Won Spanish Rally Championship


  • Years contested: 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999

1999: Reached the final of the inaugural ROC Nations Cup

1997: Takes ‘Champion of Champions’ title

Share this page:

ROC Merchandise

Exclusive Merchandise

Race Of Champions Merchandise!

  • Michelin Partner
  • Telcel Infinitum Partner